Articles of Confederation

Coversheet of the Articles of Confederation. U. S. Articles Of Confederation. Articles of confederation and perpetual union between the states of New Hampshire, Massachusetts Bay, Rhode Island, and Providence plantations, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South. Williamsburg, 1777. Pdf.

What were the Articles of Confederation? Why did they ultimately fail?

Download Primary Source Set: Articles of Confederation

This source set allows students to study reasons why the Articles of Confederation were drafted, what their limitations were, and how these limitations led to the need for a stronger federal government.